Early Long-form on the Avid

As Wiki would say “this article is a stub”  I want to link to background material on other sites and not clutter the main article, so this is a test.

After about six months helping Avid launch Media Composer in NYC, I went to work for UK based Directors International who were starting up a NY office to produce a documentary series on Muhammad Ali.  It was my job to set-up three Avid systems and train the staff of (film) editors and assistants to migrate their skills into this brave new world.  Before 1990, the Avid system was in ‘beta.’  To my knowledge this was the first integrated deployment of 3 Avid systems (later 4) working on the same long-form project.

There we many ‘firsts’ – among them, this was my first non-editing job. For a year from Spring 1990 to 1991 I was training, coordinating and general admin of the Avid systems and staff.  It was hard and exhilarating, because every day was filled with firsts.  I/we were inventing it as we went.

Before I start this story in earnest, I’d like to back up and talk about video and the Mac.  The Avid Media Composer was the most ambitious and sophistocated system, but not the first to attempt post-production work on a Macintosh.  I was first exposed to this wave of products at a MacWorld Expo in Jan. 89.  I have to confirm it but i’m pretty sure these systems were being demo’d at that San Francisco show.

click this thumbnail to see some early Mac/video spec sheets

About avideolife

video editor & director
This entry was posted in Early Avid (Mac based non-linear editing). Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Early Long-form on the Avid

  1. Wilhemina says:

    Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your post seem to be
    running off the screen in Ie. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.
    The style and design look great though! Hope you get the problem resolved soon.
    Cheers

Leave a Reply

