Synapse Visiting Artists Program brochure

In talking about the Synapse Visiting Artists Program at Syracuse University, I’m aware there is not a lot on the web about it* – so I’ll try to fill in some here.  I was involved with the program from 1974-76, on staff for 75/6.  If WNET’s TV Lab was Hertz, I suppose we were Avis.  Both organizations were funded by the New York State Council on the Arts.  NYSCA was kind of the Mother of Video Art in the 70’s. I hope my colleagues and mentors from Synapse post a list of the artists that participated, because it was prolific.  Here is a portion of a brochure, though after my time there gives the gist of what it was about.  It mentions CMX editing, whereas in my time there it was strictly the more primitive Editec.

*Notable exceptions c/o experimentaltvcenter.org and http://www.vasulka.org

 

About avideolife

video editor & director
This entry was posted in Visiting Artists and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

